Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Three Women

On October 7, 2011 the Nobel Committee declared that women’s rights are vital for peace and awarded the prestigious Peace Prize to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakkul Karman for their “non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights.” The Nobel Committee Chairman added that “We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.”

WISER believes that the best and most lasting social and economic change is only possible when girls are educated, self-confident, and economically autonomous. WISER is proud to be part of the movement, recognized by the Nobel committee, to give girls and women the power to engage in social change, work for peace, and improve the living conditions in their country.